Source: eKapija | Wednesday, 05.04.2006.| 14:43
Highlight an article Print out the news

12 TV station in selection for national TV frequency in Serbia, RTL rejected because of disputable ownership structure

After the latest decision of the Republic Radio-Diffusion Council, 12 TV stations are still competing for the national TV frequency in Serbia: Television Avala, B92, BK, Košava, MTS, Pink, Pro TV, Sigma television, TV 5, Fox Television, Happy TV and CME SR TV.

For various reasons (legal terms, incomplete applications or deadline expiration), TV A, IBC and TV Politika were eliminated from the competition, as well as RTL because of disputable ownership structure (49% of the assets of that company is owned by foreigners).

As far as radio frequencies are concerned, 9 radio stations are aiming at 5 national radio frequencies - Kis FM, Pro FM, B92, Indeks, S radio, Fokus, Roudstar, Sigma FM and TDI. The application sent by Radio Yu has been rejected because it is 100% property of the State, whereas Radio MIP was rejected because it did not pay the deposit. Other radio stations eliminated from the further competition are Radio Novosti, Radio Fleš, Radio Grad, BS FM and Radio Politika.

On the territory of Vojvodina, applications sent by Novi Sad-based TV station Panonija and Subotica-based Most and Super for TV frequency have been accepted, while 6 TV stations are still competing for the broadcasting on the territory of City of Belgrade: Art, Enter, Košava, SOS, Metropolis, Most, Palma Plus and Studio B.

Only logged-in users can comment.