Source: eKapija | Monday, 08.08.2016.| 14:52
Highlight an article Print out the news

New Government of Serbia announced

(Photo: Lunja/
A little over three months after the general election in which the Serbian Progressive Part won the majority of votes, the party's leader, Aleksandar Vucic, announced the composition of the new government. He submitted the proposal for the composition of the government to President of the National Assembly of Serbia Maja Gojkovic, who called the first special session for August 9, at 2 pm, when the Government of the Republic of Serbia is to be elected. At the session, Vucic will present his expose and introduce the new government.

– The new government is a combination of success, experience and freshness. We have kept the backbone of the former government, which has done a lot of good things – Vucic said.

– Now we need to go further with new energy and new enthusiasm. I believe that the next four years will be Serbia's golden age.

He also said that there will be 6 or 7 new names in the government.

– This is a formula for improvement, along with the plan I will present tomorrow. The former government was a government of stabilizing public finances, and the new one will be a government of prosperity – Vucic said.

– I will start presenting the expose tomorrow, an all-encompassing plan and program. I will be talking for several hours, though I can't say how many – Vucic said.

The new Cabinet of Ministers consists of:

* First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Ivica Dacic

* Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Internal Affairs Nebojsa Stefanovic

* Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Construction, Transport and Infrastructure Zorana Mihajlovic

* Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Trade, Tourism and Telecommunications Rasim Ljajic

* Minister of Economy Goran Knezevic

* Minister of Finance Dusan Vujovic

* Minister of Defense Zoran Djordjevic

* Minister of Agriculture and Environmental Protection Branislav Nedimovic

* Minister of Mining and Energy Aleksandar Antic

* Minister of Justice Nela Kuburovic

* Minister of Public Administration Ana Brnabic

* Minister of Education, Science and Technological Development Mladen Sarcevic

* Minister of Health Zlatibor Loncar

* Minister of Labor, Employment, Veteran and Social Policy Aleksandar Vulin

* Minister of Youth and Sports Vanja Udovicic

* Minister of Culture and Information Vladan Vukosavljevic

* Ministers without portfolios: Jadranka Joksimovic, Slavica Djukic-Dejanovic and Milan Krkobabic

In the past days, the SPP has been negotiating with the Socialist Party of Serbia about the formation of the new government. The socialists were the progressives' partners in the two previous government mandates as well. The new government is also supposed to include the Alliance of Vojvodina Hungarians.

The new Government of Serbia needs to be supported by at least 126 members of the parliament, who will at the same time vote on the government's program and the election of the Prime Minister and the members of the government.
Only logged-in users can comment.